Springfield Public Schools - Home

Springfield Public Schools

Jennifer Gill, Superintendent
1900 West Monroe Street
Springfield, IL 62704
InformationProgramsSchoolsHuman ResourcesIntranet

Coop education students, employers of the year named

May 19, 2015

Students in the District’s Cooperative Education program and supervisors at participating employers have been recognized for their achievements this year.

Students who participate in the Cooperative Education program attend classes in the morning and go to work in the afternoon. They earn credit and get paid to work in office occupations as well as foodservice and retail jobs. Many supervisors in the program were once student participants themselves. There are more than 125 work sites that students go to locally.

Student of the Year award recipients (and their employers) include:
Lanphier High School:
Jimmerra Johnson (McDonald’s)
Starr Corbridge (Stratton, Moran, Sronce and Nardulli Law Offices)
Sierrah Brown (SCOPE)

Springfield High School:
Brian Eccleston (Butler Funeral Homes)
Brianna Ferguson (Illinois Department of Transportation- Traffic Safety)

Southeast High School:
Tanishia Brown (Illinois Department of Transportation)
Ariel Defreitas (Jeffrey Alans)
Macklin Coffin (Bemco Mattress Warehouse)

Supervisor of the Year award recipients include:
Southeast High School: Brenda Shirley, co-owner, Kim’s Auto Body
Lanphier High School: Tina Prose, branch manager, United Community Bank
Springfield High School: Joe Dominguez, sergeant-at-arms, Illinois Senate