Springfield Public Schools - Home

Matheny-Withrow Elementary School

1200 Pope Ave
Springfield, IL 62703

Social Emotional Learning

Caring School Community (CSC)

The Caring School Community (CSC) program is a program we use to build classroom and schoolwide community. CSC strengthens students’ connectedness to school—an important element for increasing academic motivation and achievement.

Classroom meetings are used to help students build positive relationships, solve problems, plan events, practice social skills, prepare for the day, and build/maintain a positive classroom community. A class meetings can be called at any time throughout the day.

Second Step

Second step is an evidence based program used in the schools to decrease problem behaviors and increase school success by promoting self-regulation, safety, and support. Increases in prosocial behaviors, empathy, and conduct have been shown. At Matheny Second Step is used for more targeted groups for behavioral intervention during SWOOP and individual/group sessions.

Zones of Regulation

We will begin to integrate the Zones of Regulation as a universal tool for all of our students this school year. This will be incorporate into our SWOOP SEL time and continued during class meeting. The information below is taken directly from the website zonesofregulation.com

What are the Zones of Regulation?

The Zones is a systematic, cognitive behavior approach used to teach self-regulation by categorizing all the different ways we feel and states of alertness we experience into four concrete zones.  The Zones curriculum provides strategies to teach students to become more aware of, and independent in controlling their emotions and impulses, managing their sensory needs, and improving their ability to problem solve conflicts.  

By addressing underlying deficits in emotional and sensory regulation, executive functions, and social cognition, the curriculum is designed to help move students toward independent regulation.  The Zones of Regulation incorporates Social Thinking® concepts and numerous visuals to teach students to identify their feelings/level of alertness, understand how their behavior impacts those around them, and learn what tools they can use to manage their feelings and states.

The Four Zones:  Our Feelings & States Determine Our Zone

The Red Zone is used to describe extremely heightened states of alertness and intense emotions.  A person may be elated or experiencing anger, rage, explosive behavior, devastation, or terror when in the Red Zone.

The Yellow Zone is also used to describe a heightened state of alertness and elevated emotions; however, one has some control when they are in the Yellow Zone.  A person may be experiencing stress, frustration, anxiety, excitement, silliness, the wiggles, or nervousness when in the Yellow Zone.  

The Green Zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone.  This is the zone where optimal learning occurs.  

The Blue Zone is used to describe low states of alertness and down feelings, such as when one feels sad, tired, sick, or bored.  

The Zones can be compared to traffic signs.  When given a green light or in the Green Zone, one is “good to go”.  A yellow sign means be aware or take caution, which applies to the Yellow Zone.  A red light or stop sign means stop, and when one is the Red Zone, this often is the case.  The Blue Zone can be compared to the rest area signs where one goes to rest or re-energize.  All of the zones are expected at one time or another, but the curriculum focuses on teaching students how to manage their Zone based on the environment and people around them. For example, when playing on the playground or in an active/competitive game, no one would think twice about one being in the Yellow Zone but that would not be same in the library.