Springfield Public Schools - Home

Springfield Public Schools

Jennifer Gill, Superintendent
1900 West Monroe Street
Springfield, IL 62704
InformationProgramsSchoolsHuman ResourcesIntranet
Educator of the Year, Rising Star and Administrator of the Year

Nominate your 2022 top educators! Do you know an educator or administrator who inspires you? We are now accepting nominations for the Horace Mann Educator of the Year, Administrator of the Year and Rising Star awards. Parents, students, fellow educators and community members can nominate deserving individuals by Friday, March 18, 2022.
* Educator of the Year Award Recognizing one outstanding educator who has been teaching in the district for five years or more.
* Rising Star Award Recognizing up to three educators teaching in the district four years or less.
* Administrator of the Year Award Recognizing an administrator with two or more years of administrative experience.

The District 186 Educator of the Year Program is sponsored by Horace Mann and recognizes educators for their dedication to education and the youth of Springfield. To nominate someone: Submit the nomination online. Anyone can nominate a deserving educator for the Educator of the Year, Rising Star or Administrator of the Year . Nominations must be submitted by Friday, March 18, 2022 by 4:30 p.m. For more information, email bhankins@sps186.org. Pay tribute to an outstanding educator today!

Read below before you begin a nomination:

Currently, we do not have the capability to save incomplete nominations, so it is a good idea to have all information ready before beginning the nomination. Here is the information you will need to provide:

  • Nominee's name, school, subject(s) and grade(s) taught, years of service in District 186
  • Principal's name and e-mail address
  • Narrative of why the nominee should be considered
  • At least one (1) Letter of Recommendation from someone other than the person submitting the nomination. These can be copied and pasted into the online form, or submitted separately via e-mail to bhankins@sps186.org. If you are submitting separately, please indicate in the form that you are doing so. Nominations CANNOT be considered without at least one supporting letter.
  • Past recipients are not eligible to be nominated for the same award. See below for a full list.
Past Educator and Administrator of the Year Recipients
1988Sandra Carlson
1989Melinda Labarre
1990Ray Bruzan
1991Dennis Morris
1992Dr. Jean Ahlberg
1993Jane Lawder
1994Mary Jackson
1995Bette A. Wells
1996Jill Grove
1997Jim Broch
1998Diana Roth
1999Keith Kincaid
2000Robert Mitchell
2001Donna Jefferson
2002Teri Neff
2003Deborah Huffman
2004Joe Bunch
2005Tracy Buscher
2006Sara Oehlert
2007Nancy Pence
2008Tamara Douglass
2009Sandra Bauer
2010Teresa Holton
2011Susan Kemp
2012Melissa Beckler
2013Maryna MitchellKeith Kincaid
2014Dee Dee DuffyNichole Heyen
2015Jeff LightfootTracy Gage
2016Layne ZimmersKari Borders
2017ReChad BradleyClaudia Johnson
2018Lori MooreTerrance Jordan
2019Christie JonesJamar Scott
2020Martha JordanArwah Franklin
2021Carmelita FosterNathan Kochanowski